Fortnite's Playground Mode Is Finally Out

Fortnite's Playground Mode Is Finally Out

Fortnite: Battle Royale has gained another new mode, as the Playground LTM (limited-time mode) is now live. The mode first launched a few days ago, but was taken down soon after due to server problems. Thankfully, the issues have now been resolved, and the mode is available to play on PS4, Xbox One, PC, Nintendo Switch, and mobile.

Unlike previous limited-time modes, Playground is intended to be a "low-pressure environment" that acts much like a private server. It allows players to explore the map and play around with up to three friends, free from the risk of being eliminated by other people.

Each Playground match lasts for one hour, and the storm circle won't begin closing in on the map until 55 minutes have passed. Friendly fire is enabled, although players will respawn immediately unless eliminated by the storm. There's also much more loot to find.

Meanwhile Fortnite has another content update available now. It adds the Drum Gun for Battle Royale and Stink Bomb for Save the World, as well as special American-themed cosmetics in celebration of the United States' Independence Day, July 4.

Finally, Season 5 of Fortnite is scheduled to begin on Thursday, July 12, at 1 AM PDT / 4 AM EDT / 9 AM BST / 6 PM AET. In the meantime, players can still complete this season's challenges to level up their Battle Pass and unlock any remaining rewards. If you need help completing the challenges, be sure to check out our full Season 4 challenge guide.